Lucon to Arcachon 280kms (175m)

Lucon to Royan (81m)

From the rolling hills of the north, I now hit the extreme flatness of the Marais. Just like cycling across the Fens, but I was in favour today with St Jacques….. the wind was gently supportive! As I continue south, names evocative of the ‘fruit of the grape’ pass me by: Cognac, Riberac, Chalais, and the Medoc

An event that had France spellbound

looms on the horizon.

Small acts of kindness. At a Carmelite House, I was spoilt by the lady running their shop. She tried to find accommodation for me (but not in the House, because it’s an enclosed order) and she treated me to coffee and biscuits made by the nuns. At an internet café in Lucon, I told them I was a pilgrim on the Route St Jacques, and refused to accept payment for the use of their computer.

Bio-rhythms. I know this a bit technical to occupy a simple cyclist’s mind but, long  journeys like this always alter my sleep/waking patterns. After a couple of days, I begin to fall asleep earlier in the evening and wake up in the small hours. Last night I fell asleep at 9pm and awoke at 3am, ready to go! Ah well, maybe I should regard 2-3 hours dozing as a welcome lie-in!

Anyone for curried mussels?

Royan. Nothing remarkable about this town, apart from it being on the estuary of the Gironde. In the 19th century, it used to be the most fashionable resort for Parisians. In fact, Paris used to migrate there for the summer. Sadly, it was extensively bombed during the war and was one of the first towns to be rebuilt according to a master-plan.

Royan to Arcachon (94m)

To avoid a massive detour around Bordeaux, there is a handy ferry (bac) across the Gironde Estuary to Verdon, which will launch me directly onto the Voie Littorale or the Voie Anglaise which will follow the coast along the flat  forested expanse of the Gironde and Les Landes. Cycling in forest for a couple of hours can be fun, but in front of me lie 370kms of tree-enshrouded cycling. The forest is criss-crossed by a network of pistes cyclables, which means you could ride the length of the peninsula traffic-free.

With Darrell

People I met. Ahead of me I spied a be-panniered cycle-tourist and guessed he would be British. He had, in fact, also spied me behind him in his wing-mirror, and we pulled over to chat. Darrell, like many tourists was carrying far too much luggage (including a tent which he hardly used), but was enjoying the freedom of being retired as a butcher, and was on a 3 month, 3000 mile trip down to Spain and back, raising funds for Help for Heroes.  Then I met a couple of

German cyclists

Germans, who gave me guidance on the pistes cyclables, and when I revealed my ultimate destination, one of them (who happened to be a church minister) asked me to remembered them when I arrived in Santiago. Then, at the end of the day, enjoying well-deserved beers, I bumped into a group of three (Flemish-speaking) Belgian cyclists who were riding from home right

Belgians

down to Marbella, allowing 24 days for the journey. The early part of their journey was on the French Route St Jacques starting in Vezelay. In Spain their route will take them through Zaragoza, Cuenca, Albacete and Granada. They were such fun company for half an hour, I nearly joined them!

Etaing de Carcans. After 50 miles, covered in the dust of the forest and sweating from the excessive

.....and now to cool off!

heat, the lure of the freshwater lake was overwhelming. Lycra shorts make great swimwear, so in two minutes I was off the bike and into the water. Pure bliss!

Voie Littorale (Anglaise). This was a favourite route for British pilgrims in the middle ages. They would disembark at Verdon and begin their walk to Compostela. Today, it is still a largely unknown route, with very few pilgrims, but there is much evidence of its ancient use in the past. Several churches have preserved their statues of St Jacques, and there are the remains of former hospices and hospitals, including the Fontaine de St Jean with its curative waters.

Film “The Way”. This film should be launched in the UK this weekend, starring Martin Sheen and directed by his son Emilio Estevez. It is a story based on the Camino de Santiago (The Way), and it is my bad luck that I’m not there to see it. If you are intrigued by this journey, I’d highly recommend this film. As I head south through France, I am wished bonne route (not bon voyage) by all I meet. When I cross the border, that will change to buen camino.

1000kms to go, half way there!

Half way point looms. Today I will pass through Mimizan, where there is way-marker telling me the remaining distance of 1000kms (625m) to Santiago. I’ve just completed 7 days on the bike, so the going has been brisk. But without a doubt, the hilly terrain of the north coast of Spain will detain me with their challenges. Wish me buen camino!

 

About Frank Burns

Looking for the extraordinary in the commonplace………taking the road less travelled……..striving for the ‘faculty of making happy chance discoveries’ in unremarkable circumstances. Click on the Personal Link below to visit my webpages.

Posted on May 12, 2011, in Santiago de Compostela 2000kms: a Celtic route and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. dennis Langley

    Hi frank, i’m enjoying your blog from freezing Bungendore Australia. it is -3 degrees c as I write this and it snowed here yesterday. I am going to ride the voi litterale and the camino del norte in september, so I’m following your trip with interest. Good luck! Dennis langley

  2. Well done! your daily mileages are amazing. Enjoy the flat terrain for the mountains are coming!
    Mont Jezkibel – just over the border into spain (sacred spring for the Basques!) is a steep climb – but with such awesome 360% views. Try not to miss the albergue at Guemes (just before Santander) It is probably the most interesting and welcoming albergue ever! well worth the steep pedal up!!
    It is great to read your posts – it brings the region alive again – as well as the beautiful feeling of being a pilgrim – en route, on bike! thank you, jo

Leave a Reply

Looking For 42

Traveling the world looking for the meaning for life (and whatever else I might find along the way)

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Bike 5

Five miles or less? Bikes are best!

Kite*Surf*Bike*Rambling

KITESURFING, CYCLING, SUP: ramblings, idiocy and not much more

Cycling Dutch Girl

the only certainty is change

4000milestothesea

On a bicycle from coast to coast across the USA

CyclingEurope.org

Europe... on a bicycle

Self Propelled

Self propelled adventures through life; blogging on cycling, touring, micro-adventures, general shenanigans, and environmental news

chrisp666

Cycling across Europe, Cornwall to Munich

fossilcycle

FOSSIL - A Fine Old Senior Soul In Lycra

The Vicious Cycle

A man searches for meaning...in between leg shavings

2 l o v e c y c l i n g

It's about cycling ... and other travels

There And Back Again

Life at 15 miles per hour

As Easy As Riding A Bike

Well it should be, shouldn't it?

Bike Around Britain

Blog on cycling around the coast of Britain

David Noble's Blog

Life, Loves and Living

weston.front

The Weston Front - the destination of a road less travelled...

The Innocent Bikestander

It can be better

Bike, Banjo & Baby

They go together so well

Something for Kiki and the Pok

the adventures of Christopher Yardin - by plane, bike, through a lens, or the eyes of a child

Bricycling...

Cycling Blog

Richard Tulloch's LIFE ON THE ROAD

Travel adventures on wheels and legs

THE SPORTSWOOL DIARIES

................."Cherry picking the nicest places in the world to cycle"

Gippsland Granny

Musings from Metung

Serendipities of life

Taking the road less travelled

I Do Not Despair

When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. ~H.G. Wells

Tom’s Bike Trip

Adventures and experiments in two-wheeled travel

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

machacas on wheels

Taking the road less travelled

