No bluffing….this is the end!

Invercargill is crawling with journalists. They jump out of the bushes and catch you when your guard is down. Then I discovered there is a school of journalism in the local Polytechnic, SIT (Southland Institute of Technology), and all the students are out there hungry for a good story.

image

Before I set off to complete the final 30km to my destination, I had an appointment at the studios of Cue TV (www.cuetv.co.nz) where I was interviewed by Margot Sutherland, and then followed by a cameraman for some action shots on the road to Bluff. Didn’t know whether to wave at the camera or simply look as if I was suffering with the strenuous effort…… chose the latter ‘cos I didn’t want people to think I was actually enjoying myself!

image

So I eventually get to Bluff (the Land’s End of NZ) expecting to quietly take a few photos and then disappear to Stewart Island. But no……my gracious hosts in Invercargill, Marie, Bryan and Cecily, had made the journey down to be my welcoming party, and to join the little celebration of my completion of the journey.

image

No sooner had the ritual photos been taken, but another journalist jumped from behind a bush clasping his voice recorder. He was a radio presenter from MoreFM, he rattled off a number of questions for which (of course) I had well rehearsed answers, then he amiably questioned the distance I had covered. Unlike the sign on my bike, the signpost said that Cape Reinga was only 1400km away, not the nearly 3000km I had covered. I politely pointed out that 1400km is as the crow flies, and that NZ roads were never designed for avian migration…….and anyway, why would anyone want to take the shortest route? For me, there were too many fascinating diversions.

image

If you look carefully, you might see that London is over 18000km away……but again, that’s for the crows. But they generally don’t stop off in Singapore to re-fuel.

image

I am now on Stewart Island, a one hour high speed catamaran journey from the mainland, ready to spend 36 hours chilling out and eating a bit more of the above.
But let me finish with a few more examples of Kiwi generosity: a couple overtook me on the road to Bluff, pulled over and donated $10; a gentleman gave me another $10 as I was having photos taken beneath the signposts; on Stewart Island, as I was trying to negotiate a discount on my pitch for 2 nights, David (who was accompanying a group of deer hunters) stepped forward and paid my $40 bill as a donation. Only in New Zealand………..
When I get to Australia, I’ll tell all the Aussies just how generous the Kiwis have been……..and they’ll all be so hopping mad that their hands will inexplicably go deeper into their pockets and purses :0) Wouldn’t that be great for the Children in Syria Appeal?
http://www.justgiving.com/Frank-Burns1

About Frank Burns

Looking for the extraordinary in the commonplace………taking the road less travelled……..striving for the ‘faculty of making happy chance discoveries’ in unremarkable circumstances. Click on the Personal Link below to visit my webpages.

Posted on February 22, 2013, in New Zealand End-to-End 3000kms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Dearest Frank….I can hardly believe that you’ve finished the Marathon trip, in soooo short a time….and with the very best of daily updates for me and all those of us who languish at home, safe in our little cosy dwellings in Engelond. Well done, you! And thanks for the stories shared, and the glorious photos. It as been for me a real treat. Look forward to seeing you back “home”….. although clearly the whole world is now your home, and all it’s inhabitants your neighbours. Love and peace, etc., Caroline

  2. To be Frank, Frank, I am full of admiration for your remarkable exploit. Especially so because you too are a senior citizen and your energy and stamina should, and I hope will, stimulate us all to greater things. Well done – a fantastic performance and also a magnificent boost to Save the Children funds and support for their work in Syria. Look forward to your return to Kimbolton.
    The other Frank

  3. Congratulations on your finish – what a ride!

  4. Your comment regarding the competitiveness do the Australians and New Zealander will certainly work to your benefit.
    Congrats on completing such a huge journey by bike. Looking forward to catching up with you in Metung.

  5. Hi Frank. Well done! What an amazing journey so far! Enjoy your well deserved short break before embarking on your Aussie leg. Denise

  6. Absolutely amazing!! Very well done Frank! We are full of admiration for you and thankful that you have managed to complete the journey without any insurmountable problems. Now we hope you really enjoy Australia and we look forward to having you home soon.
    Jane and Maurice

  7. Wow, tempus fugit! Or was the wind behind you all the way? Well done! Looking forward to reading about your adventures in Aus. Love you!

  8. Well done Frank…proud of you, mate.

  9. So many puns. Must. Resist!
    Looks beautiful! This really is an inspiring trip. Congrats on getting so far.

  10. Frank, congratulations on a job well done! Enjoy your short rest and good luck on the next phase! When does your Round-The-World Trip start?

  11. Margaret Butterfield

    Congratulations and well done – some achievement. What an example to us all. I had no idea you were going to continue in Australia. Good luck with that.
    Margaret

  12. Frank. Huge congratulations on your incredible marathon of cycling. I canoed 91km this weekend down the Wanganui River and though that was good. That puts me to shame. What an amazing achievement. Im so pleased that you have experienced the kiwi lifestyle and generosity. It is a truly amazing country and you will have seen that for yourself. Sorry we weren’t able to meet up. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

    • Thanks for that Helen. Personally I’d rather ride my bike than paddle a canoe…..well done you!
      The Whanganui branch of Save the Children tried to link up with me, but we missed each other. However, they made a generous contribution to the cause via the website. If you could check them out for me and extend my thanks, that would be great.
      Hope the interviews went well.

  13. Fascinating accounts of your travels in NZ, Frank. As for Day 1 in Oz, no surprise that Kimbolton figured in your life once again. OKs (and their parents) pop up in the most unexpected places. Looking forward to your Tales from Oz. There must be a book in all this. Much respect.
    Roger Davies

  14. What next Frank a book a film, they have made many
    films about far less, l do not know how you do it, fantastic, looking forward to seeing you both soon.

    Love Kim and Sue.

Leave a Reply

Looking For 42

Traveling the world looking for the meaning for life (and whatever else I might find along the way)

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Bike 5

A better way to get where you're going.

Kite*Surf*Bike*Rambling

KITESURFING, CYCLING, SUP: ramblings, idiocy and not much more

Cycling Dutch Girl

the only certainty is change

4000milestothesea

On a bicycle from coast to coast across the USA

CyclingEurope.org

Europe... on a bicycle

Self Propelled

Self propelled adventures through life; blogging on cycling, touring, micro-adventures, general shenanigans, and environmental news

chrisp666

Cycling across Europe, Cornwall to Munich

fossilcycle

FOSSIL - A Fine Old Senior Soul In Lycra

The Vicious Cycle

A man searches for meaning...in between leg shavings

2 l o v e c y c l i n g

It's about cycling ... and other travels

There And Back Again

Life at 15 miles per hour

As Easy As Riding A Bike

Well it should be, shouldn't it?

Bike Around Britain

Blog on cycling around the coast of Britain

David Noble's Blog

Life, Loves and Living

weston.front

The Weston Front - the destination of a road less travelled...

The Innocent Bikestander

It can be better

Bike, Banjo & Baby

They go together so well

Something for Kiki and the Pok

the adventures of Christopher Yardin - by plane, bike, through a lens, or the eyes of a child

Bricycling...

Cycling Blog

Richard Tulloch's LIFE ON THE ROAD

Travel adventures on wheels and legs

THE SPORTSWOOL DIARIES

................."Cherry picking the nicest places in the world to cycle"

Gippsland Granny

Musings from Metung

Serendipities of life

Taking the road less travelled

I Do Not Despair

When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. ~H.G. Wells

Tom’s Bike Trip

Adventures and experiments in two-wheeled travel

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

machacas on wheels

Taking the road less travelled

