Pecs-Sombor(Serbia) 113kms

I don’t think I’ve ever had such an early start to the day….by 8.30am I had reached Mohacs, 45kms(28m) down the road, which renewed my contact with the Danube. So I used my loose Florints to have a second, somewhat restrained(?) breakfast before I left Hungary.

image

But let me tell you a bit more about Pecs. A small university town with a stunningly beautiful centre, and yet to be discovered by the city-break tourists. It’s cathedral had a Byzantine air to it

image

…and I happened to pay a visit just as a wedding was coming out

image

…and as I wandered the streets, I was struck by the huge contrast between this majestic town and the rather depressed villages I had passed through crossing Hungary.

image

A construction of Da Vinci’s Collosus dominated the main square

image

…and I sat wondering if this young lady would break free from her moorings

image

She didn’t…….while I was there, at least. But that evening at the small town campsite, I met this delightful Dutch couple, Nicholas and Meta,

image

who invited me to share a four course meal, followed by Nicholas’ favourite digestif. What a feast! They were just returning to Holland from a 6 week tour of Eastern Europe, and they were able to give me the latest news about the flood damage in Serbia.
When I arrived in Mohacs to catch this ferry to take me across the Danube

image

a Hungarian gentleman on a bike spontaneously came up to me and spoke to me in French.

image

What surprised me was that Hungarians have never struck me as spontaneous, nor even curious about why I was cycling in their country (and I never saw a single other cycle trekker like myself), but in eastern Hungary, the people are different, and the villages are much prettier and well cared for. It seems the communist regime did little to quash the spirit of the people in this area.
Then I entered Serbia

image

the fifth country on my itinerary and, unlike all the other border crossings, this passage through a sleepy border control had me rooting for my passport, and standing patiently while a lethargic customs officer went through his well-rehearsed routine. When I asked about a money exchange, I was told 14kms down the road at Bezdan……and it was Sunday…so no banks open…..thank goodness for cash machines.

image

Now unlike the Hungarian Florint and it’s inflationary numbers, I can cope with the Serbian Dinar…very like the exchange rate of the old Spanish peseta. 1000SRD is about £7. But amazingly, they have a 10 dinar note worth……now wait for it….worth less than 7p!

image

I have yet to be handed coins in change after a purchase.
My entry into Serbia was heralded by an almighty thunderstorm

image

so I took refuge in a cafe for two hours over my 60SRD coffee (40p) and read an e-book on my phone. Heading towards Sombor, I noticed a sign for a campsite, followed it, and found myself paying little more than £3 to pitch in someone’s back garden

image

already occupied by the tamest owls I’ve ever seen

image

and while I was pitching my tent, I had to supervise little Danilo as he tried to fix the tent pegs

image

and the newly acquired kitten

image

and puppy

image

did their best to distract me from the important job in hand.
Ah well, such is life…..
http://wwe.justgiving.com/Frank-Burns2

About Frank Burns

Looking for the extraordinary in the commonplace………taking the road less travelled……..striving for the ‘faculty of making happy chance discoveries’ in unremarkable circumstances. Click on the Personal Link below to visit my webpages.

Posted on May 26, 2014, in Kimbolton to Istanbul 4000kms: a crusader's route and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Looking For 42

Traveling the world looking for the meaning for life (and whatever else I might find along the way)

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Bike 5

Five miles or less? Bikes are best!

Kite*Surf*Bike*Rambling

KITESURFING, CYCLING, SUP: ramblings, idiocy and not much more

Cycling Dutch Girl

the only certainty is change

4000milestothesea

On a bicycle from coast to coast across the USA

CyclingEurope.org

Europe... on a bicycle

Self Propelled

Self propelled adventures through life; blogging on cycling, touring, micro-adventures, general shenanigans, and environmental news

chrisp666

Cycling across Europe, Cornwall to Munich

fossilcycle

FOSSIL - A Fine Old Senior Soul In Lycra

The Vicious Cycle

A man searches for meaning...in between leg shavings

2 l o v e c y c l i n g

It's about cycling ... and other travels

There And Back Again

Life at 15 miles per hour

As Easy As Riding A Bike

Well it should be, shouldn't it?

Bike Around Britain

Blog on cycling around the coast of Britain

David Noble's Blog

Life, Loves and Living

weston.front

The Weston Front - the destination of a road less travelled...

The Innocent Bikestander

It can be better

Bike, Banjo & Baby

They go together so well

Something for Kiki and the Pok

the adventures of Christopher Yardin - by plane, bike, through a lens, or the eyes of a child

Bricycling...

Cycling Blog

Richard Tulloch's LIFE ON THE ROAD

Travel adventures on wheels and legs

THE SPORTSWOOL DIARIES

................."Cherry picking the nicest places in the world to cycle"

Gippsland Granny

Musings from Metung

Serendipities of life

Taking the road less travelled

I Do Not Despair

When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. ~H.G. Wells

Tom’s Bike Trip

Adventures and experiments in two-wheeled travel

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

machacas on wheels

Taking the road less travelled

