Belgrade

Every campsite I’ve stayed in on all of my treks have been unique in their own way. Last night’s was too, but for the wrong reasons. A nice setting, yes, and a warm welcome too by the warden, but there were stray dogs hanging about the site, and during the night they engaged in a lot of ‘doggy yodeling’ with their friends and enemies on the other side of the Danube…..I mean, some of them must have been 5 miles away. I was not a happy bunny last night.

Then this morning, I awoke at 4am, got up half an hour later, and was packed and ready to leave by 5.30. But I found the main gate locked, and there was no way out. I contemplated climbing over the fence, but with the bike it was out of the question. I had the prospect of waiting till 7am for the reception to open, and frankly, I was fuming. My plan was to ride the 20kms into Belgrade before the world was fully awake, and the roads were quiet.

However, 10 minutes later I spotted a chap in a crumpled suit and realised he was the night warden, and had fallen asleep on the job. So I gave him a big beaming smile and he let me out of the detention camp…….
I got into the centre of Belgrade by 6.30, grabbed my first breakfast at a bakery, and immediately headed up to the fortress

image

with it’s towering views over the confluence of the river Sava with the Danube.

image

Ten days ago, this must have been a vast flood plain because it was the Sava that caused all the destruction. The only evidence of flooding now are the sandbags lining the banks of the river.

image

Having seen the predominance of Eastern Orthodox Christianity in Serbia, and visited a few of their churches

image

image

I’ve come to the realisation, in the context of my journey following the route of the First Crusade of 1096, that this part of Europe was probably the westernmost outpost of the orthodox church….and with a later occupation by the Ottoman Turks, there is a decidedly eastern feel to the country.

Then when I discovered there was a special exhibition on at the National Gallery, I splashed out 70p on a ticket (and no, I didn’t have the courage to ask for a senior discount!) and found myself learning about this Dalmatian portrait artist in one room

image

Serbian impressionists in another

image

and Peter Paul Rubens in yet another

image

I thought it was a great investment of 70p.
I was impressed with Belgrade, especially since I expected to be disappointed by it. Maybe my thinking still hasn’t moved on beyond the Cold War years.

As I headed off on the 45kms to the next campsite, I stopped at a food store just 7kms from the site, and as I was leaving, Dragan and Miljan arrived on their bikes

image

and immediately invited me to join them in a beer. We chatted at length about cycling and football (they knew a great deal more about the English league than I did, and told me of the Serbians who played for Man City….I mean , how would a cyclist know that kind of trivia?) and I admired how they could combine cycling with drinking and smoking (I didn’t stay for a second beer….one was enough to make me feel a bit wobbly for the last 7kms!)
Then when I got to the campsite down by the Danube, Istuan was having a break from a painting job he was doing, and invited me to join him for another beer.

image

I’d like to think it was my sparkling personality that brought about these acts of kindness, but I think an opportunity to speak English may also have had something to do with it.
Serbian beer has a way of getting to those parts…….
http://www.justgiving.com/Frank-Burns2

About Frank Burns

Looking for the extraordinary in the commonplace………taking the road less travelled……..striving for the ‘faculty of making happy chance discoveries’ in unremarkable circumstances. Click on the Personal Link below to visit my webpages.

Posted on May 29, 2014, in Kimbolton to Istanbul 4000kms: a crusader's route and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good to see you are keeping yourself well hydrated. Beer is isotonic you know, and full of B vitamins. Glad to see you enjoying some good weather at last.

Leave a Reply

Fit Recovery

Stay Clean Get Fit

Northern Walker

Lightweight backpacking, hillwalking and bicycle touring adventures in Northern England and Scotland

Looking For 42

Traveling the world looking for the meaning for life (and whatever else I might find along the way)

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Bike 5

Five miles or less? Bikes are best!

Kite*Surf*Bike*Rambling

KITESURFING, CYCLING, SUP: ramblings, idiocy and not much more

Cycling Dutch Girl

the only certainty is change

4000milestothesea

On a bicycle from coast to coast across the USA

Self Propelled

Self propelled adventures through life; blogging on cycling, touring, micro-adventures, general shenanigans, and environmental news

chrisp666

Cycling across Europe, Cornwall to Munich

The Vicious Cycle

A man searches for meaning...in between leg shavings

2 l o v e c y c l i n g

It's about cycling ... and other travels

There And Back Again

Life at 15 miles per hour

As Easy As Riding A Bike

Well it should be, shouldn't it?

Bike Around Britain

Blog on cycling around the coast of Britain

David Noble's Blog

Life, Loves and Living

weston.front

The Weston Front - the destination of a road less travelled...

The Innocent Bikestander

It can be better

Bike, Banjo & Baby

They go together so well

Something for Kiki and the Pok

the adventures of Christopher Yardin - by plane, bike, through a lens, or the eyes of a child

Bricycling...

Cycling Blog

Richard Tulloch's LIFE ON THE ROAD

Travel adventures on wheels and legs

THE SPORTSWOOL DIARIES

................."Cherry picking the nicest places in the world to cycle"

Gippsland Granny

Musings from Metung

Serendipities of life

Taking the road less travelled

I Do Not Despair

When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. ~H.G. Wells

Tom’s Bike Trip

Adventures and experiments in two-wheeled travel

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

machacas on wheels

Taking the road less travelled

