Japan day 12

Japan day 12
Takamatsu-Himeji 51 km
A truth that has forcefully emerged over time on my travels is that the more simply you travel and live, the more people will stretch out the hand of kindness and generosity. But sometimes you have to remain steadfast in your resolution to see it happen. More of that later.

Before I headed off for the first of the day’s two ferries, I attached my new sign to the bike

image

….kindly made by Sachiko, with the all important Japanese kanji characters, to complement the romaji. Now everyone should be able to read it.
The day’s plan was to take the one hour crossing to Tonosho, on the small island of Shodoshima

image

….cross the island following the northern coastal (hilly) road to Fukuda, then catch the ferry to Himeji on the biggest of the four major islands, Honshu.
The big attraction about Himeji is its castle, locally known as the Egret (because it is white, and looks like an egret from a certain angle), standing prominently over the city.
No sooner had I ridden off the first ferry onto Shodoshima when I heard a drone-like chanting coming out of a doorway, and picked up the distinctive smell of incense sticks being burned. I stopped and looked in. The small assembled crowd of pilgrims jostled around to make room for me to join then, and I spent 10 minutes enjoying the sound of a monotone chant, but in three part harmony. Quite extraordinary really…..and, of course, the location was a tiny Buddhist temple, and these pilgrims were travelling around the island’s temples on a pilgrimage, known locally as the henro.

image

Wherever I go in the world, I come across local variants of religious belief and spirituality, all of which point to an unmistakable truth: it seems to be programmed into the human DNA to look to a source of energy and guidance that is beyond this world. Each manifestation of this, despite national and cultural differences, betrays common characteristics at every level, including the manner of prayer and worship.
When I got to Himeji, having picked up a city plan from Information, I went immediately to the principal Shinto Shrine

image

and asked if I could pitch my tent in the garden. This caused a stir amongst several members of staff, and they really tried to persuade me to go to a hotel or guest house. I gently stood my ground, but I knew it was a non-starter, because they locked up the whole site at 6pm for security.
However, one of the young men, in his Shinto robes, jumped on his bike and took me a couple of kms away from the centre to a smaller shrine, and arranged with the caretaker for me to sleep there.

image

Then things really began to happen. He phoned a friend, Yoshi, a retired teacher who spoke some English, and he came to meet me. He was obviously excited at the prospect of practising his English, so arranged with Masaaki (the caretaker) to bring some sake (rice wine), which we drank hot (a tradition here), and some snacks….

image

….and we sat on cushions on the floor in the shrine office talking the evening away, and Yoshi has promised to take me around the sights of Himeji in the morning, and have lunch together before I leave for Kobe.

image

None of this would have happened if I had weakened on my resolve to sleep in my tent, and allowed myself to be persuaded to take a hotel room.
Moral…….?

About Frank Burns

Looking for the extraordinary in the commonplace………taking the road less travelled……..striving for the ‘faculty of making happy chance discoveries’ in unremarkable circumstances. Click on the Personal Link below to visit my webpages.

Posted on April 1, 2015, in End-to-End of Japan 3000kms. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great story. Having experienced life in Japan, none of this was even remotely shocking. My first week in the country a woman stopped me on my way to the supermarket to invite me to dinner. Her husband was an economics professor who spoke English. We had a wonderful time.

  2. you speak of our DNA etc…if man is made in ‘the image and likeness of God’… then whatever religion,country, custom, it will be good, exciting, fantastic ,personal…. and what a great adventure pilgrimage you are having Frank !!

    • Interesting thoughts, Sam….but what if man is not made in the image and likeness of God (eg. Hitler)……? We then need to look for something that is fundamentally evolutionary to explain some of our innate driving forces.

  3. I don’t suppose this is the place Frank to chat about this very interesting stuff …. As I do believe everyone is made in the image of God etc , even Hitler and all the misguided ISIS lot !
    But it would be fascinating to know how the Japanese explain the problem of evil …… Maybe more hot sake !
    Lovin your comments and beaut photos !

  4. What a wonderful trip you are having. The kindness is touching.

Leave a Reply

Fit Recovery

Stay Clean Get Fit

Northern Walker

Lightweight backpacking, hillwalking and bicycle touring adventures in Northern England and Scotland

Looking For 42

Traveling the world looking for the meaning for life (and whatever else I might find along the way)

Off The Beaten Path

Inside news from Bicycle Quarterly and Compass Bicycles

Bike 5

Five miles or less? Bikes are best!

Kite*Surf*Bike*Rambling

KITESURFING, CYCLING, SUP: ramblings, idiocy and not much more

Cycling Dutch Girl

the only certainty is change

4000milestothesea

On a bicycle from coast to coast across the USA

Self Propelled

Self propelled adventures through life; blogging on cycling, touring, micro-adventures, general shenanigans, and environmental news

chrisp666

Cycling across Europe, Cornwall to Munich

The Vicious Cycle

A man searches for meaning...in between leg shavings

2 l o v e c y c l i n g

It's about cycling ... and other travels

There And Back Again

Life at 15 miles per hour

As Easy As Riding A Bike

Well it should be, shouldn't it?

Bike Around Britain

Blog on cycling around the coast of Britain

David Noble's Blog

Life, Loves and Living

weston.front

The Weston Front - the destination of a road less travelled...

The Innocent Bikestander

It can be better

Bike, Banjo & Baby

They go together so well

Something for Kiki and the Pok

the adventures of Christopher Yardin - by plane, bike, through a lens, or the eyes of a child

Bricycling...

Cycling Blog

Richard Tulloch's LIFE ON THE ROAD

Travel adventures on wheels and legs

THE SPORTSWOOL DIARIES

................."Cherry picking the nicest places in the world to cycle"

Gippsland Granny

Musings from Metung

Serendipities of life

Taking the road less travelled

I Do Not Despair

When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race. ~H.G. Wells

Tom’s Bike Trip

Adventures and experiments in two-wheeled travel

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

machacas on wheels

Taking the road less travelled

