The illusion of elevation

ramsey

Whenever I think of heading east from my village, I brace myself for the windswept flatlands of fen country, following the straight lines of drains and dykes, on roads that disappear over the horizon without a rise or fall, and rarely a bend or curve. In short, it’s my vision of ‘cycling hell’. So when the Wednesday group decided to head out to Ramsey, I viewed the prospect with a certain hesitation. For those who know fen country, most of it is land that should rightly be under water, but Dutch drainage engineers in the 17th century helped mastermind the building of a clever system of drainage which has created some of the most fertile agricultural land in the country.ramsey-elevation

My ride took me over Holme Fen, reputedly the lowest part of fen country, dropping away to 2.75 metres below sea level, though my GPS only detected -1 metre on the road, which stood proud of the field level on either side. You can imagine my surprise, when I downloaded the stats of the ride at the end, to discover that over the course of 74kms, I had actually climbed 350 metres (1100 feet)…….but most of it heading in and out of the fens in west Cambridgeshire, which I frequently nickname as ‘Huntingdonshire’s alps’. In fact, the highest point of old Huntingdonshire is just a few miles from my home, just outside a tiny hamlet called Covington. Somewhere in the field known as ‘Boring Field’, there is a spot that is a towering 80 metres above sea level…….imagine that.ramsey-stats

imag2560-1

Watching our leader mend his own puncture….and no-one lends him a hand

 

 

About Frank Burns

My journeys around the world are less about riding a bicycle, and more about what happens when I get off the bicycle. Click on the Personal Link below to visit my webpages.

Posted on December 8, 2016, in Cycling UK and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Those little lumps in the road can certainly add up over the course of a ride!

    Like

  2. You’re absolutely right. BTW, do you live in Tasmania? Just this afternoon I was reading an excellent book by Jeremy Paxman about the British Empire, and learning a few things about the colonization of Tasmania.

    Like

  3. Yep! Moved here from England earlier this year. It’s certainly super lumpy out on this little island!

    Like

Leave a comment